Where should I handle collision?

(artanis) #1

Overall, I’m pretty new to Flashpunk and programming in general. I have made a Megaman Clone that works pretty well, but I grew tired of the way I was making the maps. I was using 2d arrays. All the platforms/walls were entities that the Player class would check collision with based on type.

So I’ve been checking out Ogmo. I followed a tutorial by Zachary Lewis and it is pretty different to what I was doing. Grids/Masks are new to me. His game seems simpler than a Megaman game. Ogmo 2 with Flashpunk Tutorial

No trouble getting it to work, but he handles everything in his World class (input, collision, ect). I’d prefer to stick with my method of the Player class handling the input and its own collision (maybe I shouldn’t???). I cannot figure out how to interact with the grid (walls) from the Ogmo file, from the Player class. The grid doesn’t seem to have any type I can check against. Am I going about this wrong?

(David Williams) #2

I always create a dedicated entity that handles the tilemap and grid. I use the tilemap as the graphic, and the grid as the mask. This way, you can just set the type and treat it like a normal entity.

(Jacob Albano) #3

I always structure things so that entities are responsible for handling their own collision when they move. Same with input. If you’re working on a small game for demonstration purposes, those things can go in the World without a problem, but it gets obnoxious. I learned my lesson after my first big project wound up with an 800 line main file. :wink:

You can add the grid to the the world with the addMask() function to allow other entities to check collision against it with a type string.

(Matt L) #4