Phoenotopia (Zelda-like 2D side scrolling RPG)

(Quang Tran) #1

Hi guys,

I’ve been a long-time flashpunk user (before there was even a version 1.0!) and I’ve been developing this game full-time for the past 10 months, (and part-time before that). Now I’m trying to get people playing it so I can balance its difficulty and flow.

If you have time, I would appreciate your feedback. If you find any errors/bugs that would be really helpful as well. You can view the game on FGL using the following account details:

Username: Viewer54321

Password: huntzeroeight

Many Thanks!

Edit: https://www.fgl.com/login.php (Forgot the link)

(Mike Evmm) #2

Wow. I don’t have much time to play, so I only took a little peek, and I really (really) liked it. Didn’t feel anything like Zelda though (which to me was a pleasant surprise, I never liked Zelda very much), but the gameplay was intuitive and the atmosphere was set really well, along with the music (insofar as I played). I really hope I can find the time to play this more thoroughly.

(Quang Tran) #3

Thanks for the compliment!

The Zelda influence is more apparent later (when you get a slingshot and bombs). I do try to diverge from Zelda’s formula and have the game find its own identity midway through development (to varying degrees of success).

(reopucino) #4

I have played your game even if a minutes and this game it’s realy cool. I don’t think this is game Zelda like, I think you create a new fresh game…

I love your style art work, your game physic, and story. I hope you get a good sponsorship for this game :smile:

(Ultima2876) #5

This is fantastic and I’d absolutely love to publish it on mobile with you. Please send me a PM!

(Mike Evmm) #6

Out of curiosity, how do you imagine this’d work on mobile (the controls I mean)?
(and @Quasar, please let me know if this goes mobile!)

(Ultima2876) #7