How to make updates based on score?

hey im fairly new to AS3 and flashpunk, but im trying to make a simple space shooter with a player whos ability updates based on score, aka speed increase, more bullets, etc, when the score reaches a certain point. but so far i cant get it to work, is there anyone who has done this/may be able to help m e do this?

(MartĂ­ Angelats i Ribera) #2

I understood that you have a variable wich is the score and you want to make improvements depending of it, right?

Also it’s important for the design if it can be reseted or it always increses (or stays the same), if you want the upgrades be always the same or you want to change them every time, etc. This little things are the key to make it in one way or another.

(Jean) #3

The most basic way I can think is to store the score on a static class and make a multiplier, something like this:

//initialize the power up as 1
int powerUp = 1;

//to avoid useless IF statement, try to put this code after by any means the score is increased, or if it's impossible use on the update

if(GameObject.score > 500){
  powerUp = 1.1; //10%
}
if(GameObject.score > 750){
  powerUp = 1.2; //20%
}

//and a example of using would be something like this
//HSpeed as Horizontal Speed
x += HSpeed * powerUp;

(MartĂ­ Angelats i Ribera) #5

I’ve thought about this way. It’s quite easy to make and allows the usual things you want to include.

public var score:Number = 0; //or uint or int depending of the game
private var _powerLvl:uint = 0;

//in the update function
public function update():void
{
	//[...]

//The power ups
	if (_powerLvl <= 0 && score >= 100)
	{
		//apply first power up (can be multiple changes)
    		_powerLvl++;
	}
	if (_powerLvl <= 1 && score >= 200)
	{
		//apply second power up
    		_powerLvl++;
	}
	//[...] //add more powerups

//the power downs. If the score is always increasing, do not use this. Also notice that the order is inverted.

//[...] //add more power downs