Converting flash game into desktop application

(B6ka) #1

Hello, I am working on a retro-style platformer; I am planning to release the game as a browser game, but if it is well received, I would like to add more levels and features. Is there an easy way to convert the flash game into a desktop game that can be installed on say Windows 7 as an application? I have seen some posts that ask similar question, but I am still not sure how to do this. I do not want it to be a simple projector .exe file. I want it to be full screen and scaled appropriately, possibly changing screen resolution, etc. I would really appreciate any hints or suggestions.

P.S. I am not an experienced programmer.

(Bora Kasap) #2

check this topic The Stage3DPunk Thread!

(B6ka) #3

Thanks, I have seen that thread. I guess it is more about porting FP games to mobile, but I will ask the author if it can easily do what I want. :slight_smile:

(B6ka) #4

Dear Dave @Ultima2876,

Can stage3dpunk be used for converting my FP game into desktop application (as described at the beginning if this thread)?

(Nicole Brauer) #5

What is your reason against using a projector exe? You can still scale / fullsceen the game with a flash projector.

Otherwiese I would recommend in cheking out AIR, which gives you a bit more functionality than a projector.

(Ultima2876) #6

It can be used as part of that process to enhance the performance of your game (allow more sprites on screen, allow it to run on weaker systems etc). Best part of that is that it’s completely free to use it on desktops like this :slight_smile:

(B6ka) #7

Thanks, I will be counting on stafe3dpunk then :slight_smile:

(Ultima2876) #8