Contributing to the Git

(Ultima2876) #1

Hello everyone :smile:

As the primary developer of Stage3DPunk, I have a load of patches for FlashPunk that I’d like to contribute. However, as a complete github n00b… I have no idea how to go about it. I don’t know what a pull request is… I confess, I’m an old beast from the dark ages of SVN and haven’t yet updated my mindset to this new way of thinking.

So if someone can explain like I’m 5… I should be able to contribute some nice stuff to FlashPunk!

(André Perdigão) #2

I’m also a github noob but I might know something. The primary FlashPunk source code is in a public repository in Draknek account (https://github.com/Draknek/FlashPunk).

Anyone can look it up and fork it. Forking a git means that you create an entire copy of the repository to a personal repository, under your account. You can then make changes to the files and publish them to your own repository. After the changes are published, you can then go over to the original repository in Draknek and create a pull request. A pull request is something like asking the main developer to evaluate your changes and deciding if they should be merged with the main repository. If they’re merged, your changes will end up in the main branch.

I think all this can be managed via command line but I think it can be done over the Github website.

Feel free to correct me, of course!

(Jonathan Stoler) #3

This sounds right to me (but I’m also pretty new to git)!