Accessing the x and y coordinates of another entity

(Simon Edström Kawaji) #1

Hello, I am very new to flashpunk and need some help. I am trying to access the x coordinates of my Player entity from my enemy entity so that it will be able to follow the player. But when I do as the “Accessing Entities” ( Accessing Entities ) tutorial, I get this error.

TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference. at entities::Enemy_1() at GameWorld/loadMap() at GameWorld() at Main()

Anyone know how to fix this issue? Here is the part of the code that creates the error:

In the enemy class

var player:Player = world.getInstance(“player”) as Player;

and in the update() function of the enemy

if (player){ if (player.x> x) { if (_xspeed < _MAXmovespeed && (_xspeed + _moveAccel) < _MAXmovespeed ) { _xspeed += _moveAccel; } else { _xspeed = _MAXmovespeed; } }

if (player.x < x)
			{
				if (Math.abs(_xspeed) < _MAXmovespeed && (Math.abs(_xspeed) + _moveAccel) < _MAXmovespeed  )
				{
					_xspeed -= _moveAccel;
				}
				else
				{
				_xspeed = -_MAXmovespeed;
				}
			}
		}

(Jacob Albano) #2

The issue is that the call to getInstance() is done in your Enemy’s constructor, before it’s been added to the world; therefore the world variable is null. You should call it in the added() function instead.

(Simon Edström Kawaji) #3

Thanks! I managed to fix it

(Ultima2876) #4

In general it is always better to use the added() function for basic initialization stuff like that. The constructor should only be used for stuff that allocates memory:

//avoid variable initialisers. Keep them null or undefined!
private var myImage: Image;
private var myArray: Array;

//constructor
public function Constructor()
{
  x = 50;  //initialisation. Bad! Put this in added() or a separate function instead!

myImage = new Image(blahblah); //allocates memory. Keep it in the constructor!
  graphic = myImage;  //initialisation. Bad! Put this in added() instead!